Some Latter-day Saints (Mormons)
who have won the Pulitzer Prize

This is a list of members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons) who have won the Pulitzer Prize. The Pulitzer Prize is generally considered the highest award granted in American literature. This is probably not a complete list, but includes all of the individuals we are aware of.

All of the individuals in the first list except Bernard De Voto were practicing Latter-day Saints at the time they received the Pulitzer Prize. (Benson later left the Church.)

A separate list highlights Pulitzer Prize-winning literature in which main characters are Latter-day Saints. Allen Drury and Tony Kushner received Pulitzer Prizes for writing which featured fictional Latter-day Saint characters. But Drury and Kushner themselves were not Latter-day Saints.

Jack Anderson1972journalism investigative reporting that exposed the fact that the
Nixon administration was aiding Pakistan while claiming
neutrality in the India-Pakistan War
Laurel Thatcher Ulrich1991historyA Midwife's Tale
Merlo J. Pusey1952biographyCharles Evans Hughes
Steve Benson1993editorial cartoonsArizona Republic staff editorial cartoonist
Bernard De Voto1948historyAcross the Wide Missouri

Pulitzer Prize-Winning Literature
In Which Main Characters are Latter-day Saints

Allen Drury1960literatureAdvise and Consent
Wallace Stegner *1971literatureAngle of Repose
Tony Kushner1993dramaAngels in America

* Wallace Stegner: Major characters in Stegner's Pulitzer-winning novel Angle of Repose are Latter-day Saints. Although Stegner was a native of Utah and much of his writing focused on Latter-day Saint history, he himself was not a Latter-day Saint.


Custom Search
comments powered by Disqus

Web page last modified 5 April 2005.
We are always striving to increase the accuracy and usefulness of our website. We are happy to hear from you. Please submit questions, suggestions, comments, corrections, etc. to: