Home Page

Return to Largest Latter-day Saint Communities web page.

Latter-day Saint Temples in Australia

The temples of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints are separate and distinct from their meetinghouses. There many thousands of Latter-day Saint churches and meetinghouses in the world, but relatively few temples.

Below is a list of all the states and territories of Australia and whether or not there is a temple there.

New South Wales 6,000,000Sydney
Victoria 4,500,000Melbourne
Queensland 3,030,500Brisbane
Western Australia 1,663,000Perth
South Australia 1,067,000Adelaide
Tasmania 469,900 --
Australian Capital Territory 295,700 --
Northern Territory 175,000 --

Sources: Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and various sources

There are currently temples operating (Sydney), under construction (Melbourne, Adelaide) or announced (Perth, Brisbane) for the largest cities in each of the five most populous Australian states. The population of these five states account for over 94% of the total Australian population. In fact, the majority of Australians live within these five metropolitan areas.

The three states/major territories without temples (Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory, and Northern Territory) have a combined population of less than one million people. The Australian Capital Territory is actually a state entirely within the state of New South Wales, where the Sydney temple is located.

Darwin, the capital of the Northern Territory, is extraordinarily remote, and is actually closer to Singapore than to Sydney. Because of its extreme distance from any temple, it would presumably be a candidate for a temple site if it had a sufficient population of Latter-day Saints, which is currently does not.


Custom Search
comments powered by Disqus

Web page copyright © 2000 by Please submit comments, corrections, etc. to
Web page created 21 June 1999. Last updated 17 August 2000.