< Return to Famous Adherents page

Famous Theosophists
Famous Adherents of Theosophy
notable, prominent influential members of the Theosophical Society

Related Pages:
- Famous Anthroposophists
  • Madame Helena Blavatsky - the spiritual/religious writings of Helena Petrovna Blavatsky led to the formation of Theosophy; co-founder of the Theosophical Society
  • Annie Besant - social reformer; noted writer about and proponent of Theosophy; president of Theosophical Society - Adyar branch, after the movement split (former Anglican, former Atheist)
  • Henry Steel Olcott - co-founder of the Theosophical Society in 1875
  • William Quan Judge - co-founder of the Theosophical Society in 1875
  • L. Frank Baum - author of children's fantasy novels, most famous for Wizard of Oz series
  • Paul Gauguin - celebrated French painter known for his warm paintings of Polynesian people and scenes
  • William Butler Yeats - W.B. Yeats was an influential Irish poet; received Novel Prize for Literature
  • Ruth Crawford-Seeg - composer
  • Dane Rudhyar - composer
  • Alexander Scriabin - composer
  • Pekka Ervast - Finnish Theosophist

The people listed above were devout Theosophists. They were official members of the Theosophical Society, not simply individuals with a passing interest in this religious group. Other prominent artists who studied Theosophy (some of whom may also have been official members, but our research is not yet complete about them) include: Wassily Kandinsky, Piet Mondrian, Franz Kafka, and T. S. Eliot, in Europe, and Arthur Dove, Marsden Hartley, Wallace Stevens and James Jones in America.

Search Adherents.com

Custom Search
comments powered by Disqus

Famous Theosophists / Famous Adherents of Theosophy / Famous Members of Ramayana Theosophical Society webpage copyright © 2005 by Adherents.com.
Web page created 31 August 2005. Last modified 6 December 2005.

We are always striving to increase the accuracy and usefulness of our website. We are happy to hear from you. Please submit questions, suggestions, comments, corrections, etc. to: webmaster@adherents.com.